Outstanding Service Award


To recognize a member of the Sports Physical Therapy Section who has made exceptional contributions in the area of service.


  1. Nominee must be a physical therapist and a member of the Sports Physical Therapy Section.
  2. Nominee shall demonstrate significant contribution in service to the Sports Physical Therapy Section in areas such as writing and/or speaking for the section. 
  3. Service may be demonstrated through an individual’s service on one or more elected or appointed positions or in other capacities within the structure of the section. 
  4. Serves as a visible spearhead for Sports Physical Therapy Section Advancement.
  5. Participates in activities that enhance the specialty practice of sports physical therapy within the section, community, and nationally.
  6. Members of the Executive Committee and Awards committee shall not be eligible for the award during their term in office.
  7. A person can receive this award only once.


Criteria for Selection (Depth, scope and quality of contributions in each of the following)

  1. Demonstrated commitment to the advancement of the Sports Physical Therapy Section as evidenced by nominee’s curriculum vitae and letters of support.
  2. Utilization of talents in writing, teaching, and any other areas of service to the Sports Physical Therapy Section, as evidenced by nominees curriculum vitae, and letters of support.
  3. Participation in activities that promote the Sports Physical Therapy Section (publicity, recognition, cooperation with other organizations), as evidenced by the nominees curriculum vitae and letters of support.
  4. The nominee must be able to attend the CSM awards ceremony.


Procedure for Nomination

Any member of the SPTS may nominate candidates for the award. A maximum of one (1) award will be given in any year.

  • The nominator is responsible for submitting identified documents in a single electronic award package. Please do not provide materials other than those stated below. Nominations will not be accepted through the mail.
  • Nominations must be sent to the Awards Committee Chair and the Executive Director.
  • Nomination packages must include:

1.     Nomination form. Only the official nomination form will be accepted.

2.     Support Statement (letter) from the nominator, not to exceed two (2) pages, including reasons for the nomination.

3.     Current and complete curriculum vitae of the nominee.

4.     Two (2) individuals who can specifically address one or more of the criteria for selection, not to exceed two (2) pages.

No additional documents may be sent with the packet.


Notification of the Award

The Awards Team Coordinator will notify the recipient of the award and obtain written confirmation of acceptance.  The name of the recipient will be kept confidential until announced


The Award and its Presentation

The award will consist of an award and recognition at the SPTS Awards Ceremony at the APTA Combined Sections Meeting.


Service Award

1995  Steve Tippett

1996 Gary Derscheid

1997  Mike Voight

1998 Kent Timm

1999 Danny Smith

2000  Lori Thein Brody

2001  Gordon Eiland

2004  Gail “Cookie” Friedhoff

2005  Tim Uhl

2006  Teresa Schuemann

2007 Barb Hoogenboom

2008 John DeBlasis

2009 John Stemm

2010 Allen Hardin

2011 No Award

2012 Gary Calabrese

2013 Mark De Carlo  

2014 Mark Weber