The Jack C. Hughston Sports Physician Award


To acknowledge and honor a physician of the Sports Physical Therapy Section who has made a distinguished contribution to the specialty of Sports Physical Therapy.


  1. Nominee must NOT be a member of the Sports Physical Therapy Section and APTA, but may be a participant in the SPTS Partners program.
  2. Nominee must be a licensed physician, but need not be a “team” physician.
  3. Nominee must demonstrate an interest and investment in the practice of sports physical therapy as evidenced by actions that clearly demonstrate their interest, interest and support over time.
  4. Owners of Physician owned Physical Therapy Services are ineligible.
  5. A person can receive this award only once.

Criteria for Selection

Successful candidates should be judged based upon the role they have played in the development, progression, and/or support of the profession of Sports Physical Therapy.  Individual recipients must be licensed in the field of Medicine.  The recipient must have demonstrated clear contributions to the highest level of practice of Sports Physical Therapy. 

Procedure for Nomination

Any member of the SPTS may nominate candidates for the award. A maximum of one (1) award will be given in any year.

  • The nominator is responsible for submitting identified documents in a single electronic award package. Please do not provide materials other than those stated below. Nominations will not be accepted through the mail.
  • Nominations must be sent to the Awards Committee Chair and the Executive Director.
  • Nomination packages must include:

1.     Nomination form. Only the official nomination form will be accepted.

2.     Support Statement (letter) from the nominator, not to exceed two (2) pages, including reasons for the nomination.

No additional documents may be sent with the packet.


Notification of the Award

The President of the Sports Physical Therapy Section will notify the recipient of the award and obtain written confirmation of acceptance.  He/she will also invite the recipient to the CSM Awards ceremony and facilitate attendance at said ceremony.  The name of the recipient will be kept confidential until announced.


The Award and its Presentation

The award will consist of an award, a membership to the Partners’ program, if applicable, and recognition at the Combined Sections Meeting Awards Ceremony.


Jack C. Hughston Sports Physician Award

2001 Robert Leach

2002  Jim Andrews

2003 James A. Nicholas

2004 Donald Shelbourne

2005  Mike Brunet

2006 Larry Bowman

2007 Michael Axe

2008 Ben Kibler

2010 Frank Noyes

2011 Richard Hawkins

2012 David Lintner

2013 Stephen J Nicholas

2014 Walter Richard Lowe 

2015 Richard Steadman