Legacy Fund Grant Awards
Awarded to Lane Bailey, DPT, CSCS for The Acute Effects of Manual Therapy in Asymptomatic Throwers with Posterior Shoulder Tightness

Awarded to Stephanie L. Di Stasi, PT, PhD, OCS for The functional performance and neuromuscular profile of athletes with FAI before and six months after hip arthroscopy

JOSPT Excellence in Research Award
Presented to Roberto Gatti, PT, Simone Faccendini, PT, Andrea Tettamanti, PT, Marco Barbero, PT, Angela Balestri, PT, Giliola Calori, MD for Efficacy of trunk balance exercises for individuals with chronic low back pain: a randomized clinical trial

JOSPT George Davies-James A. Gould Excellence in Clinical Inquiry Award
Presented to Paula M. Yazbek, PT, Vanessa Ovanessian, PT, MS, RobRoy L. Martin, PT, PhD, Thiago Y. Fukuda, PT, PhD for Nonsurgical treatment of acetabular labrum tears: a case series

SPTS Excellence in Research Award
Presented to Brian Noehren by Tim Sell for Axial loading rates during walking and running in females with anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction and health controls


Lynn Wallace Clinical Educator Award
Presented to Chuck Thigpen

New Horizon Award Presented to Debi Jones

Outstanding Service Award Presented to Gary Calabrese

Lifetime Excellence in Education Award
Presented to Terry Malone

Outstanding Student Award
Presented to Ashley Campbell and William Drew

Jack C. Hughston Award Presented to Dr. David Lintner

Hall of Fame, Turner A. Blackburn Lifetime Achievement Awards
Presented to Barbara Hoogenboom
Walt Jenkins
Kevin Wilk 

2011 Ronald G. Peyton Award
Presented to Lynn Snyder-Mackler

Congratulations to all our award winners! Watch this space for full coverage of the award ceremony and more from CSM 2012.

2012 Awards Reception and Ceremony

The SPTS Awards Reception and Ceremony is one of the highlights of CSM each year, when we gather to honor those who have made remarkable contributions to the Section and the field of sports physical therapy.

Debi Jones Receives Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award was established to annually honor individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary service to the profession and APTA early in their careers. Debi also was awarded the New Horizons Award at CSM 2012. Here's what Barbara Sanders had to say about Debi:

Debi is an enthusiastic professional with a strong level of expertise, dedication and confidence. She is well respected by her colleagues for her ability to manage difficult situations and clients. She worked with a group of high profile athletes as part of the sports medicine team with professionalism, proficiency and skill. She managed the challenges of visibility while working with these athletes, receiving compliments from the athletes as well as the coaches. Debi is one of those young professionals who attends Section meetings and while having no official assignment, is willing to assist and is responsible for follow through when given a task, no matter how small or how large. She has demonstrated her passion, her enthusiasm and her desire to provide leadership for the future.

- Barbara Sanders, PT, PhD, SCS, FAPTA

Congratulations, Debi, for a well-deserved honor!


From left to right, Turner A. "Tab" Blackburn, for whom the Hall of Fame Award is named, and this year's winners, Kevin Wilk, Barb Hoogenboom and Walt Jenkins.