The Ron Peyton Award


The purpose of this award is to acknowledge and honor a member of the Sports Physical Therapy Section who has made a distinguished contribution to the specialty of Sports Physical Therapy.  In addition, the recipient is offered an opportunity to share his or her achievements and ideas with members through a brief lecture presented at the CSM Awards ceremony. 


  1. Nominee must be a physical therapist who is a current Sports Physical Therapy Section member and have been a member for a minimum of five (5) years. Nominee must also be a member in good standing of the American Physical Therapy Association. 
  2. Nominee must have made distinguished contributions to the profession of physical therapy in the specialty area of sports physical therapy in the areas of service, research/publication, education, and clinical expertise. 
  3. Members of the Section Executive Committee, APTA leadership, and the SPTS Awards Committee shall not be eligible for the award during their terms of office.
  4. A person can receive this award only once.

Criteria for Selection (Depth, scope and quality of contributions in each of the following)

  1. The nominee shall have fostered relationships with other members of sports/health fields and promoted the profession of physical therapy and the specialty of sports physical therapy in a professional manner.  Wide-reaching effects of contributions as evidenced by the quality and diversity of the letters of support received.
  2. Educational preparation as evidenced by degrees and certifications held.
  3. Service to the SPTS through volunteerism by serving in a wide variety of roles (elected and appointed) as evidenced in the nominees curriculum vitae.
  4. Professional public visibility of contributions related to the practice of sports physical therapy, as demonstrated by publications, presentations, invited lectures, appointed and elected positions held, and other information contained in the nominee’s curriculum vitae.
  5. Contributions in more than one of the areas of administration, education (academic or continuing education), patient care, and research as documented in the letters of support and in the nominee’s curriculum vitae.
  6. The nominee shall have served as an accomplished role model and provided incentive for other members to grow and reach their highest potential, as evidenced by comments made in support letters.
  7. The nominee must be able to attend CSM for the award presentation.

Nomination Procedure

Any member of the SPTS may nominate candidates for the award. A maximum of one (1) award will be given in any year.

  • Electronic nomination packages must be submitted with the current SPTS nomination form provided by the Awards Committee. The nominator is responsible for submitting identified documents in a single electronic award package. Please do not provide materials other than those stated below. Nominations will not be accepted by mail.
  • Nominations must be sent to the Awards Committee Chair and the Executive Director.
  • Nomination packages must include:
  1. Official nomination form
  2. Support Statement (letter) from the nominator, not to exceed two (2) pages, including reasons for the nomination.
  3. Current and complete curriculum vitae of the nominee.
  4. Three (3) individuals who can specifically address one or more of the criteria for selection, not to exceed two (2) pages.

No additional documents may be sent with the packet.

The Ron Peyton Lecture

The recipient of this award will present a lecture at the APTA Combined Sections meeting at the Awards program.  The lecture shall not exceed 20 minutes and shall use auditory media only.  The title of the lecture will be left to the award recipient, but should focus on the recipient’s ideas and contributions related to sports physical therapy and the Sports Physical Therapy Section.  The recipient will be invited to submit a written copy of the lecture for potential publication by the section. 

Notification of the Award

The Section President will notify the recipient of the award and obtain written confirmation of acceptance.  The name of the recipient will be kept confidential until announced

The Award and its Presentation

The award includes an award, an honorarium, as well as travel and per diem for attendance at the APTA Combined Sections Meeting.



1988 Ron Peyton

1989 Clem Eischem

1990 Keith Kleven

1991 Trudy Lamb

1992 George McCluskey

1993 Lynn Wallace

1994 Tab Blackburn

1995 Jack Rockwell

1996 Terry Malone

1997 Barb Sanders

1998 Bob Mangine

1999 George Davies

2000 Gary Derscheid

2001 Bill Bandy

2002 Steve Tippett

2003 Gordon Eiland

2004 Kevin Wilk

2005 Mark DeCarlo

2006 Lori Thein Brody

2007 Todd Ellenbecker

2008 Mike Voight

2009 Danny Smith

2010 Walt Jenkins

2011 Lynn Snyder Mackler

2012 Allen Hardin

2013 Joe Black

2014 Cookie Friedhoff

2015 Joe Moore