Outstanding Student Award


To recognize a promising entry-level student member of the Sports Physical Therapy Section.


  1. Nominee must be a member of the Sports Physical Therapy Section and APTA.
  2. Nominee must be a student in an entry-level physical therapy program or have graduated from such a program within the last 6 months (from date of nomination). 
  3. Nominee must demonstrate an interest in the area of sports physical therapy in studies, research or writing.
  4. A person can receive this award only once.


Criteria for Selection (Depth, scope and quality of contributions in each of the following)

  1. Demonstrated commitment to leadership in physical therapy class as evidenced by letters of support and nominees curriculum vitae.
  2. Demonstrated talents in writing, research, and community activities that promote the sports physical therapy, as evidenced by letters of support and nominee's curriculum vitae. 
  3. Academic excellence as evidenced by grade point average as reported by the student.
  4. Section volunteerism and participation as evidenced by letters of support and curriculum vitae.
  5. The nominee must be able to attend the CSM awards ceremony.


Procedure for Nomination

Any member of the SPTS may nominate candidates for the award. A maximum of one (1) award will be given in any year.

  • The nominator is responsible for submitting identified documents in a single electronic award package. Please do not provide materials other than those stated below. Nominations will not be accepted through the mail.
  • Nominations must be sent to the Awards Committee Chair and the Executive Director.
  • Nomination packages must include:

1.     Nomination form. Only the official nomination form will be accepted.

2.     Support Statement (letter) from the nominator and one other individual, not to exceed two (2) pages, including reasons for the nomination.

3.     Student's GPA at time of nomination

4.     Student's curriculum vitae

No additional documents may be sent with the packet.


Notification of the Award

The Awards Team Coordinator will notify the recipient of the award and obtain written confirmation of acceptance.  The name of the recipient will be kept confidential until announced


The Award and its Presentation

The award will consist of an award and recognition at the SPTS Awards Ceremony at the APTA Combined Sections Meeting.


Student Award

1995 Andrew Bloch

1998 Troy Meiners

2000 Louise Hester

2003  Mike Edwards

2004  Lana Smith

2005 Abigail Gohl

2006 Justin Smith

2007 Kari Brown

2009 Jeremy Baker

2010 not awarded

2011Erica Stanley

2012 Ashley Campbell

2012 William Drew

2013 Brittney Herder

2014 Cody Mansfield, Michelle Luchini, Nadyne Dolan